The All Progressives Congress (APC) has suffered a major loss in their numbers as 14 senators and 37 members of the House of Representatives have decamped to other parties on Tuesday 24th July 2018, with majority of them joining the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). The names of Senators who defected as listed in the joint letter written to that effect and read by Senate President Bukola Saraki are Dino Melaye (Kogi West), Barnabas Gemade (Benue North East), Abdullahi Danbaba (Sokoto South), Mohammed Shaaba Lafiagi (Kwara North), Rafiu Ibrahim (Kwara South) and Suleiman Hunkuyi (Kaduna North). Others are Hamman Isa Misau (Bauchi Central), Monsurat Sunmonu (Oyo Central), Usman Bayero Nafada (Gombe North), Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso (Kano Central), Suleiman Nazif (Bauchi North), Lanre Tejuoso (Ogun Central) and Abdulaziz Nyako (Adamawa Central).
Of this list, Senator Sunmonu joined the African Democratic Congress (ADC), Senator Tejuosho is yet to announce his new platform, while the remaining 12 moved into the PDP. This has changed the configuration in the Senate to APC – 49, PDP – 55, APGA-1, and ADC – 1 with one undecided. Two seats in the senate have been vacant since the death of senators representing Katsina North and Bauchi South senatorial districts, for which INEC plans to conduct bye-elections within the next 30 days.
In the House of Representatives, 32 members defected to the PDP, 4 to the ADC and one is yet to make his new party known. Of the t37 members who left the APC, 10 are from Kano, 6 from Kwara, 5 from Oyo, 4 from Sokoto, 3 each from Benue and Kaduna states. Kogi State has 2 members while Bauchi, Jigawa, Ondo and Rivers States have one member each leaving the APC. The party still retains a significant majority in the House of representatives.
Curiously, both the Senate President Bukola Saraki and Speaker of House Yakubu Dogara did not defect, contrary to the various reports of their being part of the aggrieved group of federal lawmakers about to leave the APC. The Senate has adjourned to September 25, 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>